Unspoken Promise

You don’t have to tell me that you like me

You don’t have to tell me that you care

You don’t have to flatter me with kindness

The dryness of your words abandon me in despair

You don’t have to say another word

You don’t have to feed a man that’s whole

I’m not starving for your offerings of emptiness

All this talk has made this life just feel so cold

It goes round and round and it’s spinning like a record

Rotation of recycled sound I’ve heard so many times

But you never gave me love

You make it seem so hard to find

So I close my eyes and I inhale all these dreams that still my mind

And I’m settled with a piece of something I have yet to find

Will I know what it feels like to tangle up through time

Take me off the track from the records of the blind

And I keep spinning

Let me go

All this winning is aging my old soul

So let me go

Just let me go so I can fly away in peace from all the fizzy shallow noise

Let me go to a place where my spirit senses poise

Let me have a chance to feel I’ve made a better choice

Let my past disappear so I can hear your voice

But only if it’s true

And only if it’s real

And only if gives my heart a reason left to feel

 

Leave a Reply

