Melting Pot

We’ve made it to the melting pot

Now let’s all get along

Together we can coexist

As right will undo wrong

Teachers, students, neighbors, boss

Doctors, lawyers, cooks, and cops

Don’t put me in a category

I’m not here to wear such labels

All I need is what I have

I disregard false fables

Don’t put me in a box

I’m not here to fit your mold

As you seek to diagnose my life

Substandard views are for the cold

The land we walk together

The air we breathe for all

Passion fire burns forever

Cleansing waters hear my call

Beyond the pride upon a flag

We must not forget our roots

We’re born, we live, and then we die

Honor life with truth

And preserve it for the youth

Welcome to the melting pot

I’m here to share the truth

We come free when we let go

Of burning hatred in darkened souls

Distant sadness of drowning woes

Judgments that divide us into foes

We really need to let it go

We come free when we can share

Respect and love will take us there

Celebrate the life you have

And try the very best you can

We are free because we care

Together hearts will take us there

Celebrate the gift of life

Nothing’s promised to you twice

We’ve made it to the melting pot

So let’s all get along.

Leave a Reply

