Numb To Feeling

What is it to feel anymore
Perhaps I have forgotten
Or maybe I choose to block it
Though it cannot be a choice
Because I desire to feel
Yet nothing and nobody has inspired my heart in so long
When I smile at someone it’s like I’m shooting blanks from an invisible gun
They wanted gun control so thats what they got
Not by their request
Or for public safety
Yet somehow a killer smile had evolved into a mannequin gesture on autopilot
I want it to be real
Just give me a reason
Something to believe
Something to hold
An ocean where I can dive deeper into fluid substance

Leave a Reply

