I’ve Seen You Before

I’ve seen you before

As you walked past my door

Kept passing me by

Quick to ignore

All that I am

And all I could be

Yet you kept walking

Passing by me

I’ve seen you before

You gave me a glance

Turned your head quick

No time for a chance

Passing me by

As I patiently sigh

Somehow I wasn’t catching your eye

I’ve seen you before

You made your way back

Years down the road

I always keep track

You were quick to forget

As you do not remember

I was the snow in your late December

I’ve seen you before

When I was down in the dumps

Your vacant presence

Gave me goosebumps

Now that you’re back

And you suddenly see

I turned out to be

How you’d want me to be

I’ve seen you before

You wait for the prize

You pass up the offer

You tread in your lies

I’ve seen you before

You’re opportunistic

Selfish and greedy

And unrealistic

I’ve seen you before

You come for convenience

You are temporary

I no longer show lenience

I’ve seen you before

When I wasn’t good enough

When times were hard

When life was rough

I’ve seen you before

When I was hurting

When I was “poor”

I’ve seen you before

When I had less to give

When I was not pretty

When I was not fit

I’ve seen you before

You kept looking away

Did you expect my attention to stay?

 

Leave a Reply

