Revelation

I was foolish

I was brave

Naive to think that you should stay

I was giving

I was kind

I cared for your but not your ways

Taken by impulse

But you didn’t take my all

I gave you what you sought

You were climbing up my walls

Seeking out your needs

Like a selfish kind of breed

I was doing this for you

But you had nothing left for me

*********

And I see

Now I see

Yes I see

The truth

I was running

I was chasing

I was loving

You

Stumbled onto revelation

Of truth

This whole time I needed to find myself

I was too busy looking at you

*********

Eating up my insides

Sucking out my soul

The last supper of a leech

So blind- I lost control

But now that you are full

Indulging in yourself

The emptiness you carry

Keeps you frozen on a shelf

High above the rest

And way too good for me

Or perhaps that’s just your ploy

In what you claim to see

Impaired by your own vision

And driven by your needs

Artificial confidence

Not as compelling as it seems

Building yourself up

While you break the others down

And if you even sleep at night

Do you smile with a frown

So you made a hit-and-run

Though I wish you all the best

All I ever wanted

Was to pass another test

Thank you for the lesson

You made me learn it well

I’m wiser than I was before

While you roam around in hell

Such a revelation

From a falsifying light

Mimicking the truth

With your ill intent and spite

Why should I feel bad

For the pity you portray

Why should I feel sad

There was no need for you to stay

In a world of love and hate

And all that’s in between

I keep rolling with the punches

But this ain’t the last of me

I know just what I want

And I keep finding all I have

Your needs are so much less than

All my heart has planned

*********

And I see

Now I see

Yes I see

The truth

I was running

I was chasing

I was loving

You

Stumbled onto revelation

Of truth

This whole time I needed to find myself

I was too busy looking at you

And now that I finally found myself

I’m doing what you couldn’t do

I’m loving every bit of me

Every bit of who you never knew

Leave a Reply

